India won the SAAF Championship after defeating Kuwait in a penalty shootout

India emerged victorious in the SAFF Championship, defeating Kuwait in a penalty shootout at the Sri Kanteerava Outdoor Stadium. Goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu played a pivotal role, saving a crucial penalty to secure a 5-4 victory for the Blue Colts. 

The match saw intense competition, with both teams missing penalties before the sudden death rule came into play. Mahesh Naorem scored the winning penalty for India, while Sandhu made a remarkable diving save to deny Kuwait's captain, Khaled Hajiah. 

The Indian team celebrated their triumph in front of the home fans. Prior to the shootout, Shabaib Al Khaldi had given Kuwait the lead, but Lallianzuala Chhangte equalized for India. 

The game remained level, leading to extra time, where both teams displayed solid defense. India had a chance to win in regular time, but Chhangte's shot went over the bar. 

With the victory, India clinched their record ninth SAFF Championship title. Additionally, Indian head coach Igor Stimac became the first foreign coach to win consecutive SAFF Championships. This win also marked the first time India defeated two West Asian countries in consecutive matches, following their semifinal victory against Lebanon, also decided by a penalty shootout.