Lallianzuala Chhangte celebrates after scoring the second goal for India

India continued in the tournament with the same momentum

As the Blue Tigers embarked on their quest to reclaim the Intercontinental Cup title, which they last won in 2018, they commenced the game with remarkable intensity. Anirudh Thapa was released into abundant space down the right wing, where he delivered a dangerous low cross into the box. 

Mongolian goalkeeper Enkhtaivan Munkh-Erdene could only palm it into the path of Sahal, who swiftly struck the ball with his left foot, securing his third goal for the national team.

Twelve minutes later, Thapa once again played a pivotal role, this time from a set-piece situation. His curling corner was met with a powerful header from Sandesh Jhingan, which was cleared off the line by Batbold Baljinnyam. 

However, the rebound struck Jhingan before Lallianzuala Chhangte, strategically positioned, reacted swiftly and volleyed the ball into the net with the outside of his left boot. This marked Chhangte's first goal for India since his remarkable strike against DPR Korea in the 2019 Intercontinental Cup held in Ahmedabad.

The upcoming match for India is scheduled against Vanuatu on Monday, June 12, at 19:30 IST.

Indian squad for the Intercontinental Cup

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh

Defenders: Subhasish Bose, Pritam Kotal, Sandesh Jhingan, Anwar Ali, Akash Mishra, Mehtab Singh, Rahul Bheke

Midfielders: Liston Colaco, Ashique Kuruniyan, Rohit Kumar, Udanta Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Naorem Mahesh Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Jeakson Singh, Sahal Abdul Samad, Lalengmawia Ralte, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Rowllin Borges, Nandha Kumar

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Rahim Ali, Ishan Pandita.