Captains of all the WPL teams during the unveiling of the 2023 trophy

Defending champions Mumbai Indians have retained a strong core, with players like Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia, Natalie Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, and Isabelle Wong all staying put. 

Their commitment to maintaining a competitive roster is evident as they prepare to defend their title.

The Delhi Capitals, who finished as runners-up in the inaugural edition, have retained 15 players, including five overseas stars. Head coach Jonathan Batty expressed his sentiments about releasing players from the squad, acknowledging the difficult decisions involved. 

The team aims to build on its solid squad during the upcoming player auction.

The UP Warriorz, who secured the third position in the last season, have chosen to retain their core group and hold on to the services of five overseas players. 

Notably, South African pace sensation Shabnim Ismail has been released, along with other players like Devika Vaidya, Simran Shaikh, and Shivali Shinde.

Exciting Season Ahead

With star players retained by their respective franchises, the stage is set for an action-packed WPL 2024 season. Cricket enthusiasts can anticipate a fiercely competitive tournament as these teams gear up for another thrilling edition of the Women's Premier League.

The 2024 WPL season promises to deliver high-quality cricket, with marquee players set to dazzle on the field. 

As the franchises finalize their squads, fans can look forward to more exhilarating matches and outstanding performances in the Women's Premier League.

Player Retention Details for the Five WPL Franchises:

Delhi Capitals:

Retained Players: Alice Capsey, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Marizanne Kapp, Meg Lanning, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Titas Sadhu
Released Players: Aparna Mondal, Jasia Akhter, Tara Norris

Gujarat Giants:

Retained Players: Ashleigh Gardner, Beth Mooney, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnam Shakil, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwer
Released Players: Annabel Sutherland, Ashwani Kumari, Georgia Wareham, Hurley Gala, Kim Garth, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, Parunika Sisodia, Sabbineni Meghana, Sophia Dunkley, Sushma Verma

Mumbai Indians:

Retained Players: Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Humairaa Kaazi, Isabelle Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Natalie Sciver, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia
Released Players: Dhara Gujjar, Heather Graham, Neelam Bisht, Sonam Yadav

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Retained Players: Asha Shobana, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight, Indrani Roy, Kanika Ahuja, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Smriti Mandhana, Sophie Devine
Released Players: Dané Van Niekerk, Erin Burns, Komal Zanzad, Megan Schutt, Poonam Khemnar, Preeti Bose, Sahana Pawar

UP Warriorz:

Retained Players: Alyssa Healy, Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris, Kiran Navgire, Lauren Bell, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, S. Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Sophie Ecclestone, Tahlia Mcgrath
Released Players: Devika Vaidya, Shabnim Ismail, Shivali Shinde, Simran Shaikh.