On this day: India win the 1983 World Cup

The Setback of 2003

In 2003, under Sourav Ganguly's leadership, India faced a formidable Australian side in the World Cup final at the Wanderers in Johannesburg. 

Despite valiant efforts, chasing a daunting target of 360, the Indian team succumbed, bowled out for 234 inside 40 overs. 

Ricky Ponting's stellar innings of 140* earned him the player of the match, and India had to settle for the runners-up title.

Cricket World Cup 2003: After The Crescendo, India Fall Short Of Glory

Glorious Victory in 2011

The iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai witnessed another historic chapter in 2011 as India secured their second World Cup title. Facing Sri Lanka in the final, Gautam Gambhir's 97-run knock set the stage for a memorable victory. 

Captain MS Dhoni's unbeaten 91, including the winning six, sealed the triumph, and India basked in the glory of being World Champions once again.

Where are India's 2011 World Cup winners? - India Today

Anticipation Builds for the 2023 World Cup Final

As India prepares to face Australia in the 2023 World Cup final, the team, under the captaincy of an experienced leader like Rohit Sharma, aims to script another glorious chapter in their World Cup journey. 

The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad is the battleground, and the cricketing world waits with bated breath to witness if India can add another feather to their illustrious cap.

India's journey to the World Cup final is a saga of resilience, triumphs, and occasional setbacks. As they gear up for the ultimate clash, the nation rallies behind the Men in Blue, hopeful for another historic victory that would etch their name in the annals of cricketing greatness.