While the retirement talks added an unexpected twist to the Ashes drama, Steve Smith's eventful day at The Oval involved more than just rumors. He showcased his batting prowess with a determined knock of 71 runs, guiding Australia through a batting collapse and steering them to a crucial lead over England. 

In the midst of his impressive innings, Smith faced a moment of uncertainty when he attempted a quick two by diving for his crease after playing the ball to midwicket. England's wicketkeeper, Jonny Bairstow, displayed lightning-fast reflexes, dislodging the bails with a swift movement. This led many to believe that Smith was short of his ground, and even the Australian batsman seemed to accept his fate, starting to make his way back to the pavilion.

However, the third umpire, Nitin Menon, intervened and ruled Smith not out based on Law 29.1, which states that the bail must be completely removed for the wicket to be broken. As the replay showed that the bail was not completely dislodged until Smith was back in his crease, the decision sparked debates and discussions. 

Nevertheless, Smith's innings played a crucial role in Australia's position in the Test, mitigating the impact of the controversial run-out situation.