Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced squad for the three match ODI series against Afghanistan. The ODI series is going to start from 25th November and will end on 30th of this month only. All the three ODIs would be played in Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy with the start time of 2:30 PM local. It is expected to be an interesting series between both the teams.

Sri Lanka has announced a 16-man squad for ODI series with Dasun Shanaka as the captain of the team. Bhanuka Rajapaksha is currently announced in the squad but he will be released as he has requested the board to take a break from the ODIs. Meanwhile, Srilankan Cricket has also refused to grant the No Objection Certificate(NOC) to Rajapaksa to take part in the ongoing T10 series that is being played in Abu Dhabi. It is understood a player can’t be allowed to play in any league until he gets NOC from his country board.

Srilanka 16 member Squad: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Dananjaya Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Maheesh Theekshana, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Kumara, Bhanuka Rajapaksa*

Maheesh Theekshana would pair with Hasaranga in spin department. Sri Lanka also has young Dunith Wellalage as good back-up options. Sri Lankan pitches are usually helpful for spinners and the trend is expected to be same for the Afghanistan series as well. It would be interesting to see if Sri Lanka goes with 3 main spinners in playing XI or not. Senior wicketkeeper-batter Dinesh Chandimal, who has more than 150 ODI caps next to his name, is also part of the squad.

Note: Bhanuka will be released from the squad and the squad was released pending approval from the Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *