The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have made a solitary change to their T20 World Cup squad with Fakhar Zaman and Usman Qadir swapping places between them. Fakhar is now included in 15 member squad and Usman is moved to the travelling reserves.

Usman Qadir could not fully recover from a hairline fracture on his right thumb that he suffered in the T20I series against England in Karachi on September 25. A PCB statement said that the leg spinner will be unavailable for selection before October 22.

The left-handed batter Fakhar got a knee injury while fielding against Sri Lanka in the final of the Asia Cup and missed home series against England and tri series in new Zealand. He will travel to Brisbane with Shaheen and National High Performance Centre coach Umar Rashid. Fakhar will complete his rehabilitation under the supervision of PCB’s Chief Medical Officer and team doctor Dr Najeebullah Soomro.

Pakistan Final Squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Fakhar Zaman

Travelling Reserves: Usman Qadir, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani

Pakistan is placed alongside India, Bangladesh and South Africa in Group 2 of Super 12. Two more teams from Round 1 of the tournament will join the Group 2 based on the Qualification from round 1 that starts from 16 October.

Pakistan World Cup Schedule (Timings in PKT):

1st match– India v Pakistan, October 23, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne, 1 pm

2nd match– Pakistan v winners of Group B, October 27, Perth Stadium, Perth, 4 pm

3rd match– Pakistan v runners-up of Group A, October 30, Perth Stadium, Perth, 12 pm

4th match– Pakistan v South Africa, November 3, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney, 1 pm

5th match– Pakistan v Bangladesh, November 6, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, 9 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *