The trio of pacers Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur will link up with the Indian team in Australia tomorrow, ahead of the team’s first match against arch-rivals Pakistan on October 23. Deepak Chahar, who was one of the travelling reserves for the World Cup, is ruled out for the marquee event due to the back injury. He will continuing his rehabilitation at the NCA in Bengaluru. Ravi Bishnoi and Shreyas Iyer , who were named as travelling reserves, will remain in India for now.

One of the three travelling pacers will be picked as a replacement for Jasprit Bumrah, who has been ruled out of the mega event with a back injury that he sustained during India’s recent T20I series against South Africa. The final decision on Bumrah’s replacement will be taken on Thursday as per the sources.

An undisclosed BCCI official told PTI, “Deepak will take some time to get fit. His back issue has flared up again. His ankle is fine and there wasn’t any problem there. So BCCI is sending three reinforcements. Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur.”

A source in the BCCI has said that the team management wanted to see all the players after Deepak’s injury, so all will be sent to Australia tomorrow. Team management will assess these players and then take a call on Bumrah’s replacement.

“The team management wanted to see all the players before taking a call. Shami was already on standby and after Deepak Chahar’s injury, we needed to send more names as a standby replacement. So we asked team management and they felt that let all players fly to Australia and they will assess the players and take a call on it,” a BCCI official said.

Shami will go through his final fitness test on Wednesday, October 12. Dr Nitin Patel from the NCA will also be flying to Australia alongside the three pacers. The ICC’s deadline to name the final squad is October 15 and thus the team management will have one day time to name Bumrah’s replacement after the three pacers reach to Australia.

The Indian team will play a warm-up game in Perth on 13th October and will leave for Brisbane on October 14 where they will two official warm-up games, against Australia on October 17 and New Zealand on October 19 before flying to Melbourne for the first game against Pakistan on October 23.

India’s T20 World Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (vice-capt), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *