The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the prize money to be awarded to the top teams of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 which is about to start in less than a month time. The final winning side in Melbourne on 13th November would receive prize money of $1.6 million, with the runners-up are also guaranteed half the amount.

At the end of the 16-team tournament that is going to last for around one month, the losing semi-finalists will each get $400,000 from the $5.6 million total prize pool.

T20 World cup Prize money (in INR):
Winners: 13,05,35,440 inr
Runner up: 6,52,64,280 inr
Semi-finalist: 3,26,20,220 inr
Super 12 wins: 32,62,022 inr
Super 12 exit: 57,08,013 inr
First round win: 32,62,022 inr
First round exit: 32,62,022 inr

The ICC also said that in addition to the cash prize mentioned above, it will also be awarding a bonus amount for each win registered by teams during the Super 12 stage of the marquee event. A similar format was there even in last two World cups in the 2016 and 2021 edition of the tournament which was won by the West Indies and Australia respectively.

The winners during each of the 30 matches scheduled in the Super 12 round will take an amount which will be worth $40,000 (around INR 30 lakh) which implies a total of $1,200,000 (around INR 9 crores). The eight teams who exit at the Super 12 stage will receive $70,000 each.

The first edition of this ICC event happened in the year 2007, with South Africa being the host country. After 2007, the T20 World Cup happened in 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2016. Australia was scheduled to host the T20 World Cup in 2020, but ICC postponed the mega event to 2022 because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *