New Zealand star batsman Martin Guptill will play his record 7th T20 World cup as New Zealand declares their squad for the upcoming mega event. Young swashbuckling opener Finn Allen and allrounder Michael Bracewell are also in for their debut T20 world cup.

These are the only two changes from their last T20 world cup in UAE. The ones to miss out are Kyle Jamieson who was not considered for selection owing to his back injury, while Tim Seifert and Todd Astle could not make a cut.

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lachlan Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.

BLACKCAPS coach Gary Stead said the side was excited about the opportunity that lay ahead. “It’s always a special time announcing a World Cup squad and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players selected today.” he said. “It’s especially exciting for Finn and Michael who are set for their first ICC events, while Martin Guptill is preparing for his 7th T20 World Cup – which in itself is an incredible achievement”.

“It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event in which we played some really good cricket, but couldn’t quite get over the line at the end. With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism.”

Stead said the Tri Series before World cup will provide high quality preparation for the World Cup, “Along with the all-important game time, those matches will be a great chance to refine our combinations and game-plans ahead of our departure to Australia.”

Guptill’s inclusion for his seventh T20 World Cup sees him join an exclusive list of players in Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim – while Shakib Al-Hasan and Rohit Sharma are set for their record eighth events.

New Zealand will begin their World cup campaign on 22nd October playing against the host Australia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.